Offbeat: 22 social activists from India writes an open letter to Nagaland Chief Minister on CAA issue

Dimapur, January 23 (NE): As a last ditch, more than twenty two social activists by name of Constitutional Conduct Group (CCG), has written an open letter to appeal the Chief Minister, Nagaland so as to really rethink for the future as once the CAA is implemented throughout India – Nagaland will get impacted no doubt (it observed).

In an open letter, the CCG comprising eminent veterans from all walks of life has said the repercussion through CAA like NPR, will be felt deep and hard even in Nagaland – though for now it is not included. It observed that if it is implemented throughout India, how Nagaland will be left in any capacity – but by that time nothing will be left out. It maintained that, the current open letter has been written on humanitarian ground seeing the future for everyone as a citizen of the country.

The open letter declared that, it is left to the wisdom of the Legislative Assembly of Nagaland, which has been elected & mandated by citizens of the state.

It observed that it is now or never. The civil society in the country has done their best, even going to jail for saving and keeping intact, what is called as democracy. Now, the ball is in the state assembly’s court to act and react to see a good and bright future for everyone as a nation.

As citizens of conscience, and as people committed to our constitution, we urge all state governments including yours to take a clear and unambiguous stand: on opposing CAA; and refusing to implement the dangerously linked NRIC and the NPR, it stated.

It is pertinent to note that, Nagaland civil societies and others have been staging peaceful protests so that it will not be implemented in India as a whole – including Nagaland for peace to prevail.

These are the social activists, who wrote an open letter to current CM of Nagaland including others throughout India:
Aruna Roy, Deb Mukharji, Farah Naqvi, Fr Cedric Prakash, Ganesh Devy, Githa Hariharan, Harsh Mander, Jayati Ghosh, John Dayal, Medha Patkar, Natasha Badhwar, Navsharan Singh, Neera Chandhoke, Nikhil Dey, Prabhat Patnaik, Prashant Bhushan, Rajmohan Gandhi, Romila Thapar, Shabnam Hashmi, Dr Sunilam, Yogendra Yadav, Zoya Hasan.