Naveen Patnaik Takes Oath As Odisha Chief Minister For Fifth Term

Naveen Patnaik Takes Oath As Odisha Chief Minister For Fifth Term
Naveen Patnaik, 72, records his fifth time in office as Odisha Chief Minister.

Naveen Patnaik, re-elected with a decisive majority in the assembly election in Odisha, took oath as the Chief Minister of the state. He records his fifth time in the top office, making him the longest-serving chief ministers of the coastal state.

Mr Patnaik and his team of ministers were administered the oath of the office by Governor Ganeshi Lal at a function in Bhubaneswar. Unlike the low-key ceremonies held when he took oath in the past, this is the first time that the swearing-in was held in full public view, outside the Raj Bhavan.

On the eve of the swearing-in, 11 cabinet ministers and nine ministers of state were appointed on Mr Patnaik’s recommendation. The new team of ministers will have 10 new faces.

Apart from Chief minister’s elder brother and businessman Prem Patnaik, sister and noted writer Gita Mehta, around 7,000 dignitaries including captains of industries attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Biju Janata Dal, Mr Patnaik’s party, won 112 out of the 147 seats in the Odisha state election which was held along with Lok Sabha polls. The party has been in power in the state since 2000.

The BJP made inroads in Odisha and bagged eight parliamentary eight seats while Mr Patnaik’s party won 12.

Before taking the oath, Mr Patnaik offered prayers at the Shree Jagannath temple in Puri.

Naveen Patnaik, 72, had invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi for today’s swearing-in ceremony. But he did not attend the function. Mr Patnaik was congratulated by PM Modi sooner after his victory in the assembly polls. He too had dialed PM Modi and wished the him for the BJP’s stunning win in the Lok Sabha election.

PM Modi tweeted to congratulate Mr Patnaik