Tokheho Yepthomi of NDPP won the Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland

Tokheho Yepthomi of NDPP won the Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland

NDPP’s Tokheho Yepthomi today retained the seat of the lone Lok Sabha Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency after it went down the wire till the last hour, after oscillating back and forth throughout the day.

At 07:30 pm, the picture became clearer with the the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate from Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) Yepthomi garnering 500510 votes against 484166 by Indian National Congress KL Chishi, with a lead margin of 16344.

Tokheho Yepthomi of NDPP won the Lok Sahba seat in Nagaland 1

The four-cornered contest on April 11 had Hayithung Tungoe from National People’s Party (NPP) and M.M Thromwa Konyak from Independent as the other candidates.

Both the candidates have polled 14997 and 4620 votes respectively and there were 4620 None of the Above (NOTA) votes till 7:30 PM.

This takes the total vote count to 1006357. Nagaland went to poll on April 11 registering 83.12% turnout or around 10,08891 out of total 12, 13,777 electorates.

This means that only around 2534 are left to be counted.

The final tally would be known after the official declaration.

error: Copyright © NagalandExpress!