Shri S. C. Jamir conferred Padma Bhushan

(Padma Bhushan S. C. Jamir | File Photo)

Kohima, January 25 (NE): Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, announced on the eve of Republic Day 2020 has conferred Padma Bhushan to Shri S. C. Jamir, in the field of public affairs.
Shri. Senayangba Chubatoshi Jamir, is the former Chief Minister of Nagaland, former Governor of Odisha, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and Odisha.

It is a proud moment for Nagaland and North East that along with S.C. Jamir, Mary Kom is awarded Padma Vibhushan and 13 Padma Shri Awardees from North East India.

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio congratulates Dr. S.C Jamir on being conferred the Padma Bhushan in the field of Public Affairs. It is a moment of pride for Nagaland as he gets the third-highest civilian award in the Republic of India. Nagaland is proud of his exemplary service and accomplishments, CM added.

Padma Awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. Instituted in 1954, the awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan every year.

This year the President has approved conferment of 141 Padma Awards including 4 duo cases (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one) as per list below. The list comprises 7 Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri Awards. 34 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 18 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 12 Posthumous awardees, said a notification from Ministry of Home Affairs today, January 25, 2020.

The 2020 Padma honours were announced on January 25, 2020 with former Union Ministers Arun Jaitley, George Fernandes and Sushma Swaraj being awarded the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian honour.