PCC on Naga Political Issue appeals negotiating groups to hammer out differences

PCC on Naga Political Issue appeals negotiating groups to hammer out differences

Kohima, July 09 (NEx): The Parliamentary Core Committee on ‘Naga Political Issue’ held its first meeting on Friday, July 09, 2021 at Rhododendron Hall in Dimapur. During the meeting, the committee adopted five points resolutions, informed Member Secretary, Core Committee, Neiba Kronu.

The Core Committee appealed to the negotiating Parties of the Indo-Naga Political dialogue to resume the Peace Talks with a positive approach of mutual respect for each other by setting aside pre-conditions in the greater interest of the people’s cry for long term peace and in order to move forward under a positive environment that is conducive to finding a political solution at the earliest time possible.

The Core Committee also appealed to all Naga Political Groups to make serious efforts towards unity and reconciliation. The constant antagonism against each other, especially in public space and the Media is sending out a wrong message to the masses considering the fact that we are all pursuing the same aspiration of peace and political solution, it said. Taking the positive example set by the elected members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly, who have risen above Party affiliations to unite for the Naga Political Issue, the Naga Political Groups should make concerted efforts and listen to the voice of the people for unity and oneness, the committee said.

‘The Core Committee while appreciating the constant role and contributions of the Churches, Civil Societies and NGOs towards facilitating peace and strengthening the peace process, appeals to the Civil Societies, mass based Organizations and Tribal Hohos to make renewed efforts towards creating a conducive atmosphere for early realisation of a political solution by pursuing unity, reconciliation and oneness.’

‘All Members of the Core Committee and the Parliamentary Committee on Naga Political Issue, including the two Members of Parliament, have come together under the same banner in line with the election manifestos of all Political Parties and commit to the people that the elected members are prepared to pave the way as and when an inclusive, honorable and acceptable solution is arrived at.’

The Core Committee on behalf of the Parliamentary Committee on Naga political issue further appealed to the Naga negotiating groups to come together in order to hammer out their differences and create a common approach for One Solution and One Agreement.

It is pertinent to note that the Parliamentary Committee on Naga Political Issue comprising of all the 60 (sixty) Members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly, and the 2(two) Members of Parliament from Nagaland was constituted last month.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio is the Convenor of the Parliamentary Committee, Deputy Chief Minister of Nagaland, Y Patton and Leader of Opposition, TR Zeliang is the Co-Convenor and Minister for Planning & Coordination, Land Revenue, Parliamentary Affairs, Neiba Kronu is the Member Secretary. All Ministers, Advisors, Members of Parliament and Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) are the members of the Parliamentary Committee.