North East Dr T Ao Trophy 2020 – Nagaland’s unbeaten run ends in semi final

Kohima, January 27 (NE): In a crowd packed thriller match played at IG Stadium, Kohima, home team Nagaland’s unbeaten run is ended by Mizoram by 2-1 in the first semi-final of North East Dr T Ao Trophy 2020 today.

Nagaland fans see their North East Dr T Ao Trophy 2020 end in disappointment as Mizoram won against Nagaland by 2-1 and entered the final. Mizoram will play the final match with the winner of second semi-final match tomorrow.

Leading goal scorer of the tournament, Rhitsho Mero (No. 10) scored the first goal for the team Nagaland, 17th minute into the game and an equalizer was scored on 42nd minutes by Mizoram’s Lalchungnunga Chhangte (No. 24) in the first half of the match.

In the second half of the match, Mizoram took early leads in 49th minutes as Malsawmfela (No. 11) scored second goal for the team. Despite best performance from Nagaland, team failed to bounce back into the game, as it ends at 2-1.

In the second semi-final match today, Sikkim will face Arunachal Pradesh at 04:30 pm at IG Stadium, Kohima. The final match is scheduled to play tomorrow, January 28, 2020.

Nagaland’s Rhitsho Mero (No. 10) is the leading goal scorer of the North East Dr T Ao Trophy 2020 so far with 8 goals, Nagaland team captain Khwetelhi Thopi (No. 23) is at second with 6 goals, followed by Arunachal Pradesh’s Avinash Kharel (No. 8) with 5 goals.