NDPP’s Sharingain Longkumer wins assembly bye-election

NDPP’s Sharingain Longkumer wins assembly bye-election
NDPP and PDA consensus candidate Sharingain Longkumer

Dimapur: The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate Sharingain Longkumer has won the bye-election to 26th Aonglenden Assembly Constituency as per an update of results by CEO Nagaland.

According to the latest update at 11 AM by Chief Electoral Officer Nagaland, Sharingain had polled 8233 votes against 2227 by Indian National Congress candidate Alem Jongshi , and was leading by 6006 votes.

As the Aonglenden AC had a total of 12,482 voters, and 10460 votes has been already counted, the trend indicates that Sharingain is the clear winner with a lead by 6006 votes.

Now it is a matter the final winning margin, pending official declaration.

Earlier, the CEO Nagaland informed that 84.35% or around 10528.567 voters exercise their franchise on April 11 bye-elections.

The bye-election on April 11 saw a straight fight between NDPP candidate Sharingain Longkumer and INC’s Alem Jongshi (Longkumer).