NDPP MLA Sharingain Longkumer takes oath today

NDPP MLA Sharingain Longkumer takes oath today

Kohima, May 28: Newly elected NDPP MLA Sharingain Longkumer was on Tuesday administered the oath of office by NLA Speaker, Shri. Vikho Yhoshü at the Speaker’s chamber in Kohima.

Sharingain Longkumer, the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance’s (PDA) consensus candidate from the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), has clinched the Aonglenden assembly by-election in Nagaland.

Chief minister Neiphiu Rio tweeted to congratulate Sharingain Longkumer

Longkumer bagged a healthy vote count of 8,607 votes out of the total valid count of 11,014 votes. Congress candidate Alemjongshi Longkumer could bag only 2,362 votes.

The results were declared by the Mokokchung Returning Officer (RO) which was later confirmed through the Election Commission of India (ECI). With Longkumer’s victory, the NDPP now has 18 lawmakers in the 60-member Nagaland legislative assembly.