Nagaland: By-Election to 51-Noksen Assembly Constituency On April 17th

Nagaland: By-Election to 51-Noksen Assembly Constituency On April 17th, 2021

Kohima, March 16 (NEx): The Election Commission of India on Tuesday announced the schedule for by-election in Nagaland to fill the vacancy for 51-Noksen (ST) Assembly constituency in the State Legislative Assembly.

The 51-Noksen (ST) Assembly Constituency seat under Tuensang district in Nagaland was vacant since October 12, 2020, following the demise of former Minister for Environment, Forest, and Climate Change and Justice & Law CM Chang.

According to a press note issued by Election Commission of India, 51-Noksen (ST) Assembly Constituency bye-elction is scheduled to be held on April 17th, 2021 (Saturday). The counting will take place on May 2nd, 2021, EC notified.

The date of issue of Gazette notification for bye-polls in Nagaland is March 23rd, 2021, while the last date of filing nominations is March 30th, 2021 and date for withdrawal is April 3rd, 2021, ECI notified.

Along with Nagaland, the ECI has announced the date for Bye-Election in Gujarat, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Odisha, Rajasthan, Telangana and Uttrakhand to fill 14 vacancies in Assembly constituency.

ECI has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in these bye-election in all polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines, it notified.

Ater taking into consideration various factors like, local festivals, weather conditions, movement of forces, pandemic etc, the above schedule is issued for the by-election, the ECI stated.