Nagaland beats Manipur by 3-2, Manipur exits from North East Dr T Ao Trophy 2020

(Crowd packed tiers watching Nagaland vs Manipur match at IG Stadium, Kohima)

Kohima, January 24 (NE): In the last group-A match held today, January 24 at IG Stadium, Kohima – Nagaland team beats Manipur 3-2 in a nail-biting finish match to storm into semi-final of the North East Dr T Ao Trophy 2020. In a late twist, Arunachal Pradesh advanced to semi-final, Manipur and Tripura exit from North East Dr T Ao Trophy 2020.

It was a match that can be described as semi final ahead of semi-finals as it was a do or die match for the Manipur team. In the first half, both the team scored one goal each. Nagaland team captain, Khwetelhi Thopi (No. 23) converts a penalty awarded to Nagaland team- first goal at 8 minutes into the game, Manipur’s Lalminlian Vaiphei (No. 6) scores an equalizer at 40th minute to make the score to 1-1.

In the second half of the match, Rhitsho Mero (No. 10) scored second goal for Nagaland team at 53rd minute, Khwetelhi Thopi scored 3rd goal for Nagaland at extra time (93 minute), Luginthang Kipgen (No. 9) scored the 2nd goal for Manipur (94th minute)

Match started at 04:30 pm today. It was a must win match for Manipur team to enter into semi-final as Arunachal Pradesh has taken the second spot in Group A by trashing Tripura (16-0) in the first match which ended today at IG Stadium, Kohima.

Nagaland’s Rhitsho Mero (No. 10) is the leading goal scorer of the North East Dr T Ao Trophy 2020 so far with 7 goals and Nagaland team captain Khwetelhi Thopi (No. 23) is at second with 6 goals.