Joy Makhal Winner of 2019 Edition of Youth Parliament

Kohima, October 19 (NE): The State Level Parliamentary Quiz & Youth Parliament Debate Competition 2019 was held at ATI Imagine Hall, Kohima on 18th October 2019. The event was organised by the Department of Parliamentary Affairs under the theme ‘Be the Voice’ Find solutions and contribute to policy.

Minister for Planning & Coordination, Land Revenue & Parliamentary Affairs, Neiba Kronu exhorting the gathering said that youth parliament competitions are now being practiced all over the country and such practices have helped shape many young minds in our state and the country as well. He also remarked that a student’s life is the best time to learn and such competition will prepare them to inculcate competitive spirit.

Kronu asserted that unlike the previous generation the present generation are the luckiest as they are able to obtain information or knowledge about the world or any topic they want to learn from the media and also through wide range of books. He also encouraged the students to strive for excellence making use of the latest technology and other various medium of media and only then they will be able to compete with the rest of the world. He further remarked that their will countless opportunities for students but unless they struggle and work hard they will not be able to compete with others as there will always be someone better than them

He encouraged all to strive and be best at whatever they do and reassured the students not to worry about finding jobs in the near future; adding that whatever job they want will come looking for them if they are hardworking, sincere, honest and punctual. He also expressed happiness that many school girls are participating in the competition and further encouraged all the participants to give their best

Commissioner & Secretary, Department of Parliamentary Affairs, Motsuthung Lotha in his welcome note said that youth parliament contribute immensely in deepening our democracy and is also an effective tool for involving the young citizen in the legislature process. He also added that the Department of Parliamentary Affairs will continue to play a pivotal role in creating platforms to promote youths to speak up and impact agenda for change.

Joy Makhal Dimapur district was adjudged the winner of this year’s edition of Youth Parliament while Thungchobeni T Ezung won the second prize and Kevedülü Nakro came third. In the Parliamentary Quiz Competition, Wokha won the first prize while Longleng and Peren bagged the second and third prizes respectively. .

‘Lack of governance is responsible for slow growth and development in Nagaland’ and RIIN – advantages and disadvantages were the topics for the quiz and debate competition. Coordinator, State Level Youth Parliament, Evothung Ezung was the judge of the competition while Asst. Professor, Kohima College Kohima Z Solo and Asst. Professor, Kohima College Kohima, Dr. Eunice Alinger were the quiz masters. Districts comprising of government and private schools from Phek, Wokha, Mokokchung, Kohima, Peren, Kiphire, Dimapur, Longleng, Mon and Zunheboto participated in the competition.

(News Source: DIPR)