CM Rio Graced Tikka Utsav & Launching of New Vaccination Centres In Dimapur

Chief Minister Rio Graced Tikka Utsav & Launched New Vaccination Centres In Dimapur

Dimapur, April 13 (NEx): Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio graced the Tikka Utsav (vaccination festival) and launching programme of new vaccination centres as the special guest at District Hospital, Dimapur Chapel Hall on Tuesday, April 13th, 2021.

Addressing the gathering, the Chief Minister congratulated all the Doctors, Nurses, Health workers and the community for coming together in the fight against COVID. He said that the state has so far been able to effectively control the disease due to cooperation among all, starting from government level to the village level.

With the second wave of COVID-19 looming over the country, Rio urged everyone to be alert and continue to follow all necessary precautions. He said that despite huge spike of positive cases, countries do not want to go for lockdowns due to adverse economic activities, as a result he said, the disease will keep on coming and therefore urged everyone to be always on guard.

The CM also said that the state average on vaccination is very low compared to other states which is believed to have caused by rumours on social media, and the people were misguided. He therefore called the health workers and village authorities to create awareness among the masses to go for vaccination andto come forward and get help if tested positive.

District Immunization Officer, Dr. Rebecca Y Sema, in her brief report on COVID-19 Vaccination highlighted that there are altogether 52 vaccination centres in the district and so far 3,003 Healthcare Workers, 13,244 frontline workers and 8,452 general public totalling to 24,699 persons have been vaccinated. On availability of vaccine, she said that there are still 14,230 doses of vaccines available.

During the programme, Chief Medical Officer, Dimapur, Dr. Mereninla Senlem, gave a report on COVID-19 management in Dimapur, welcome address was given by DC, Dimapur, Rajesh Soundararajan, who also chaired the programme while the vote of thanks was proposed by Assistant MS, Dr. Rokoliebi Khate.

(With inputs from DIPR)