Chief Minister’s Meritorious Students’ Fellowship Awarded To 50 Top HSLC Students

Chief Minister’s Meritorious Students’ Fellowship Awarded To 50 Top HSLC Students

Kohima, July 19 (NEx): The Chief Minister’s Meritorious Students’ Fellowship (CMMSF) was awarded to 50 students who secured top ranks in the High School Leaving Certificate 2020, conducted by the Nagaland Board of School Education (NBSE), during a virtual felicitation programme held on July 19, 2021.

Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio congratulating the achievers said that their success is a result of their hard work and determination and expressed hope that they will bring more laurels to the State in future. He appreciated them saying that inspite of the hard times faced due to COVID-19 pandemic, the result of the last Board’s Examination has shown improvement in the pass percentage. Rio urged the whole students community to be committed, stay focused and not allow the pandemic to stand in the way of their studies or their future careers.

Rio encouraged the students to select their line of study carefully keeping in mind their talents and subjects of interest, and advised them not to limit their arena to a government job in the State. Rio also raised concern at few Naga youth qualifying for the IAS and Central Services and advised the students who are academically gifted to prepare for various competitive examinations under the Union Public Service Commission.

With the world changing at a rapid pace, especially in science and technology, Rio called for the Education department to re-orient the education system so as to equip students to face the new world with confidence and to help them realize their full potential. He informed that the State has introduced various skill/ vocational subjects at secondary and higher secondary levels in 35 government schools and 3 private schools keeping in mind the importance of practical life skills.

Advisor, School Education, K. T. Sukhalu speaking at the programme commended the awardees for their achievement and called them to be torch bearers for all the students who will be following their footstep. While stating that there is so much ahead of them, he advised the students not to get distracted.

Chairman, NBSE, Asano Sekhose highlighted about the CMMSF and the eligibility criteria for the award. NBSE grants fellowship to the top 50 students as per the HSLC examination. The fellowship is available for Indigenous Scheduled Tribes of Nagaland. It provides financial assistance to the selected students for further studies and is valid for five years, and will depend on the performance of the student which shall be continuously monitored.

Awardees, Azizi Phesao from Model Higher Secondary School and Ngamjong Jn Yanlem from St. John Higher Secondary Residential School, Dimapur also spoke on behalf of the award recipients and thanked the Chief Minister, Directorate of School Education, NBSE and various organizations for coming up with the CMMSF.

(News source: DIPR)