Changtongya emerge Champions of the first Dr. Imkongliba Memorial Volleyball Trophy

(Changtongya Volleyball Association team with Minister Temjen Imna Along, Dy Speaker, Sharingain Longkumer, Pastor Yapang Lkr and other invitees)

Dimapur, November 22 (NE): Changtongya Volleyball Association emerged as Champions of the first Dr. Imkongliba Memorial Volleyball Trophy 2019 this evening, November 22, 2019.

Changtongya Volleyball Association beat Sumi Games & Sports Association 27-25, 25-18, 25-23 in the final match to emerge as champions of the first Dr. Imkongliba Memorial Volleyball Trophy Champion held at Dimapur College Ground, today.

Three days Volleyball Trophy was held in Memory of Late Dr. Imkongliba Ao, who was the Founder Architect of Nagaland State and also the First President of Naga Peoples’ Convention (NPC), organized by Japukong Youth Organisation (JYO), under the theme ‘Recognizing achievement through sports’ from November 20 till 22, 2019.

Valedictory session started with Invocation prayer by Yapang Lkr, Pastor, Covenant Baptist Church, Sharingain Longkumer, NLA, Dy Speaker, was the Valedictory Guest. In his speech, he reminded on the importance of remembering our leader, founder and architect of Nagaland state, Dr. Imkongliba Ao. The effort, hard work, tears and blood that our founding fathers, our great leader has sacrificed for so long has finally come united into a final arrangement.

This event should not only be confined to JYO but it should be a platform where all our Naga brother can come and participate in the spirit of oneness & brotherhood, he added.

Cheif Host, Minister for Higher Education and Tribal Affairs, GoN, Temjen Imna Along, Thrijungliba Anagram, National Executive Member S.T. Morcha, Dr. Sukhato Sema, V.P BJP Nagaland, Kevishe Achumi, Secretary BJP Nagaland were the special invitees of the programme.

Changtongya Volleyball Association lifted the first Dr. Imkongliba Ao Memorial trophy and walked away with a cash prize of Rs. 1,20,000 and the runners up, Sumi Games and Sports Association won cash prize of Rs. 75,000.