55 students awarded Chief Minister’s Meritorious Students Fellowship Award, today

(CM Neiphiu Rio, his colleagues and other officials with 55 Meritorious Students at the CMMSF award at Capital Convention Centre, Kohima | Photo: DIPR)

Kohima, January 31 (NE): The Nagaland Board of School Education organised a programme of Chief Minister’s Meritorious Students Fellowship Award on January 31, 2020 at Capital Convention Centre, Kohima. The awards were given away to the best 55 students in the top rank of the HSLC Examination.

Chief Minister, Nephiu Rio said that the presentation of the Meritorious Students Fellowship was to recognize, encourage and motivate the Naga students to grow in today’s world which is becoming highly competitive. Rio also said that every recognition carries responsibilities and he hoped that the students continue to take their education seriously. He further mentioned that as they go for further studies, they should maintain consistency in their studies and performances. He urged the students who are the hope of the future, to have competitive spirit in order to become successful in their lives. Rio asked the students to become assets for their families as well as to the Naga community.

The Chief Minister’s meritorious Students Fellowship (CMMSF) program has been constituted vide Government from 14th October, 2019. The guidelines regulating the fellowship are:

– The fellowship would be granted to the top scoring 50 individual students in the top rank in order of merit of the HSLC examination conducted by the NBSE, selected on the basis of their rank/marks in the HSLC examination in order of merit.

– The selected 50 Students must belong to an indigenous Schedule Tribe of Nagaland.

– The number of persons to be awarded the CMMSF will vary in case of more than one person in one rank or place.

– Fellowship to be granted to the meritorious students shall be made on Annual/yearly basis.

– A citation along with cash award shall be given in the first year of grant of the fellowship.

-The grant of CMMSF shall be awarded for 5 years. To achieve the desired objective of CMMSF, the annual academic performance of the 50 awarded students shall be continuously monitored. To continue to avail the fellowship, the students should continue to score not less than 80% marks in the promotion/annual/semester examination in the succeeding classes/grades every year. Non -fulfillment of the criteria will lead to the discontinuation of the grant of CMMSF.

Advisor School Education, K.T Sukhalu in his brief speech said that Nagas need young boys and girls to contribute to our society and the award is one small contribution by the state government to encourage the youths to give an extra push. He said that the fellowship is also to create awareness to parents across the state to pay attention for the child’s education. He also pointed out that getting a degree is not the only thing to build ones personality but the methods that we learn in our schools and colleges sharpens an individual’s character.

The programme highlights included welcome address by Principal Secretary, School Education & SCERT, Menukhol John; special song by Rouvilhou Kense, Northfield School, kohima; speeches by awardees Niephreno Iralu, G.Rio School, Kohima and Emjungwapang Amer, Mezhür Hr. Sec. School, Kohima.

(News Source: DIPR)