New Speaker for NLA most likely on NDPP’s favor: Sources

Dimapur, February 6 (NE): NagalandExpress published an article on January, relating to the position of new Speaker at the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA). Now, with a mathematical model of calculation according to the present MLA setup, given that NDPP- BJP is well in coalition in the present Government, the present Deputy Speaker-cum-MLA from NDPP is likely to be the new Speaker for NLA after the demise of late Shri Vikho-O Yhoshu as the then Speaker from NDPP. This is due to the fact that relationship between present Government parties are intact, and there is no doubt about it, quoted as said by sources.

The election, which is slated to be held tomorrow, February Seven will however see a straight fight as Former Speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) and NPF MLA, filed nomination for the NLA Speaker. NPF is the single largest party- provided, the seven MLAs participate to vote in honor of it’s own party.

It is important to note that there are currently two by-elections to be held for Nagaland Legislative Assembly after the demise of Shri. Vikho-o Yhoshu, candidate of NDPP from 14th Southern Angami-I Area constituency, Kohima and Shri T. Torechu, candidate of NPF from 60th Pungro – Kiphire Area constituency. Dates are yet to be announced of the said by-elections.

In the 60 member House, the functional strength of parties are, NDPP-20, BJP-12, NPF-25 and one Independent MLA while two seats are vacant. Now that names of candidates are official from both the political parties of Nagaland – it is time for the public to wait and watch what really unravels, said a senior citizen.