Nagaland Speaker dismisses disqualification petition of 7 suspended NPF MLAs

Nagaland Speaker dismisses disqualification petition of 7 suspended NPF MLAs

Kohima, July 14 (NEx): Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) Speaker, Sharingain Longkumer dismissed the disqualification petition filed by the MLAs Imkong L Imchen and Chotisuh Sazo against seven (7) suspended Naga People’s Front (NPF) MLAs today.

The judgement pronounced by speaker Longkumer stated that there is no sufficient ground for presuming that the respondents (7 MLAs) had voluntarily given up the membership of the original political party, which is, Naga People’s Front.

Hence, the Speaker decided that the respondents are not liable to be disqualified, accordingly, Longkumer dismissed the disqualification petition, said the judgment order pronounced in the open conference hall of Nagaland Legislative Assembly, today, July 14, 2020 at 01:00 pm in the presence of both the parties.

The NPF filed the disqualification petition against its seven suspended MLAs on April 24, 2019 for “wilfully” defying its collective decision to support the Congress candidate in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

The seven NPF MLAs E.E. Pangteang, Eshak Konyak, Kejong Chang, B.S. Nganglang Phom, Toyang Chang, N. Thongwang Konyak and C.L. John was suspended from the party for openly declaring support to NDPP leader Tokheho Yepthomi, a consensus candidate of the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA), on the lone Lok Sabha seat in the state. NPF did not field its candidate but collectively decided to support the Congress candidate K. L. Chishi.

error: Copyright © NagalandExpress!