Nagaland govt. collected Rs.11,000 fine from ILP defaulters from Dimapur so far

(Deputy CM Y Patton addressing the 13th NLA)

Kohima, February 10 (NE): Ever since the Government of Nagaland notified through the home department political branch on extension of ILP in Dimapur district with immediate effect on December 9, 2019, Nagaland is very closely watching the Dimapur episode of ILP.

On the third day of the 5th Session of the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA), there was a discussion on ILP defaulters detected and action taken under BERF 1873 in Dimapur, today, February 10, 2020.

Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton answering to the starred questioned raised by Dr. Chotisuh Sazo MLA on the ILP defaulters detected and action taken under BERF 1873 in Dimapur said that a total of 28 ILP defaulters were detected and 6 defaulters were registered and forwarded to the court for further necessary actions.

Among the defaulters detected, the 8 defaulters without any documents were fined Rs. 500 each and deported to Assam and further, 14 defaulters were fined Rs. 500 each and ILP were issued to them, said the Deputy CM in the NLA.

The notification issued by Chief Secretary, GoN, Temjen Toy said, all non-indigenous people who have entered the district after November 21, 1979, will have to obtain ILP within 90 days from December 9, 2019. With this order, the government has brought all 11 districts under the ILP system.

It is less than a month for the 90 days deadline to close, perhaps now when the calender turns on the deadline we will have full details on the effectiveness of ILP implementation and the number of defaulters in the Dimapur district, added a source.

(With inputs from DIPR)

error: Copyright © NagalandExpress!