13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly gets new Speaker – Sharingain Longkumer

(13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly newly elected Speaker Shri Sharingain Longkumer | Photo: CM Neiphiu Rio_Twitter)

Kohima, February 7 (NE): The 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) gets its new Speaker today, February 7, 2020 as the house went for an election for the vacant Speaker post ever since the demise of late Shri Vikho-O Yhoshu as the then Speaker from NDPP on December 30, 2019.

People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) candidate, Sharingain Longkumer, who was also the 13th NLA incumbent Deputy Speaker won the Speaker post in a straight contest against his opposition candidate from Naga People’s Front (NPF), former Speaker and MLA, Dr. Imtiwapang Aier, by a margin of 7 votes. Longkumer secured 32 votes while his opponent Aier got 25 votes from the 57 members house.

(Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio, Leader of Opposition, TR Zeliang congratulates the newly elected 13th NLA Speaker | Photo: CM Neiphiu Rio_Twitter)

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Deputy CM Y Patton, Leader of opposition, TR Zeliang, along with other Legislators congratulated the newly elected 13th NLA Speaker.

CM Neiphiu Rio congratulates the newly elected Speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly. I’m confident that with your qualification and sincerity with which you’ve been discharging your duties as Deputy Speaker, you will conduct successful transaction of business of the House, added the CM.

Sharingain won the by-election as a candidate of NDPP on 2019 from 26th Aonglenden Area Constituency under Mokokchung district. Sharingain, 37 years old – is one of the youngest legislators in the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly. Meanwhile, NLA newly elected Speaker Sharingain Longkumer thanked the house for electing him as the new Speaker.